The territory of Ikalto Monastery Complex comprises three churches – Sameba (Trinity), Gvtaeba (Deity) and Kvelatsminda (All Saints) churches.

 Sameba (Trinity) church is the oldest of these, founded in VI century by one of the Thirteen Assyrian Fathers – Zenon, the disciple of Svimon Mesvete.

The church building, being relatively small, is a cross-domed building. It has changed following the restoration, but its initial image can be envisaged. The main church is the Transfiguration Church presumed to be built in VII-IX centuries on the site where the founder of the church- Zenon was buried. The church is also a cross-domed construction with altar apse of horse shoe shape. The Western portico on the Western facade represents the characteristic feature of the church. The church underwent a renovation in X-XII centuries, but its earlier layers can well be seen. Two inscriptions of the same date as the founding of the church on the Eastern facade can hardly be read. Kvelatsminda (All Saints) Church is of XII-XIII centuries. Ikalto Academy is a remarkable architectural building. It was built in VIII-IX centuries and in XI-XII centuries; Arsen of Ikalto (Arsen Ikaltoeli) sent from Gelati Academy by David the Builder founded an academy here. The building of the Academy was a two-storey large construction (43 m X 35 m) built with cobblestones. Double window of the second floor with engravings is particularly beautiful. The Academy was one of the main cultural and educational centers of medieval Georgia. According to a legend Shota Rustaveli studied in Ikalto Academy. The encryptions are of later period. Large refectory, as well as winery and other constructions are located on the territory of Ikalto Monastery Complex.